Finalists decided for 121st HSBC Argentine Open Final (2014)

Finalists Decided for 121st HSBC

Argentine Open Final (2014)


Ellerstina and La Dolfina in place for the final contest for The Triple Crown

Ellerstina Piaget and La Dolfina Hope Funds will once again come head to head in the Final of the 2014 HSBC Argentine Open. After rain delayed Sunday’s games, Ellerstina took to the pitch at Palermo yesterday to face Alegria for the remaining place in the Final. Despite being out of action since The Tortugas Open, Fred Mannix joined his Alegria teammates for the match, whilst the South African 8 goaler, Nachi du Plessis substituted injured Argentine Open veteran and Ellerstina player, Mariano Aguerre. Despite brilliant plays from both teams – particularly Alegria’s Polito Pieres – Ellerstina Piaget secured their spot with a score of 17-13.

La Dolfina’s win against La Aguada on Saturday securing their Final position also marked their 23rd win of the season – which also puts them on the home straight for winning their second consecutive win of The Triple Crown. If they are victorious in Saturday’s Final, they will be the first team since Coronal Suarez in 1975 to achieve a double-win of all three tournaments. So far, La Dolfina has won The Argentine Open seven times between 2002 and 2013, whilst Ellerstina has held the title six times between 1994 and 2012. Adolfo Cambiaso has won the trophy on an incredible 10 occasions whilst Facundo Pieres has only held the trophy three times. In a season, which has seen La Dolfina dominate The Triple Crown, will the Pieres-based Ellerstina side be able to overcome their rivals? The team did so in 2012, perhaps this year, they will do so again.

Earlier in the day Chapaleufú had their first win of the tournament against La Aguada Las Monjitas with a score of 11-10 with the winning goal coming from Eduardo Heguy in overtime. La Aguada Las Monjitas and Miramar both failed to win any games in the course of the tournament whilst Magual and Chapaleufú both had two losses and a win. Alegria and La Aguada achieved two wins and a loss each against Ellerstina and La Dolfina respectively.

The 2014 HSBC Argentine Open Final is scheduled for Saturday 6 December at Palermo between La Dolfina (Adolfo Cambiaso (10), David Stirling (10), Pablo MacDonough (10) and Juan Martin Nero (10)) and Ellerstina Piaget (Facundo Pieres (10), Gonzalito Pieres (10) and Nicolas Pieres (9). It is unconfirmed if Mariano Aguerre (9) will be fit to play at present).

Photograph: Ellerstina’s Facundo Pieres on the ball in Tuesday’s Semi Finals against Alegria. By Tony Ramirez/


Compartí en tus redes!

Dejar un Comentario