Polo Handicap: The system explanation

Polo Handicap: The system explanation

Argentina is not only synonymous for high-quality polo, but also of high polo handicap. This is a system used to calculate the level of the players, and of the polo tournaments that are disputed around the world, measuring the handicap of the teams.

Currently, Argentina has eight players with 10 goal handicap, the maximum qualification. They are: Adolfo Cambiaso (H), Juan Martín Nero, Gonzalo Pieres (H), Facundo Pieres, Pablo Mac Donough, Hilario Ulloa, Nicolas Pieres, y David Stirling. polo handicap

These eight argentinean players are the only players with this qualification in the world.

How is the handicap of a player calculated?

The handicap is the playing level of a player and its calculated taking into account the number of goals he’s worth on his team. The aspects to be considered to calculate it are:  horsemanship, individual and team playing skills, technique, disputed tournaments and the number of goals and the quality of the horses.


Who calculates it?

The Polo Association of the country in which the player is registered. In Argentina, the handicap system was established in 1911 and the responsible entity to measure it is the Asociación Argentina de Polo.


What’s the lowest and highest valorization in the handicap system?

In Argentina, the handicap system is measured from 0 to +10, being this the highest score, displayed only by the professional players. The lowest handicap is 0, generally applied to amateurs. The team’s handicap is the result of the sum of the players’; therefore, the maximum handicap for a team is 40.


Is there a women’s handicap?

By initiative of the women’s committee of the Asociación Argentina de Polo, a few years ago was created a handicap system exclusively for women’s tournaments to avoid comparison with the men’s system. Argentina became the first country to provide a handicap exclusively for women.

Follow Us Google+

Compartí en tus redes!

Dejar un Comentario